2009… An Overview

2009… hard to believe that when I wake up tomorrow it will be over and 2010 will be here. The smell of the first rose of 2009 still lingers in my mind and it’s already time for it to go away… Can’t really believe how time passed and how I still remember so many details of this year like it was as if they happened yesterday… This post is more of a diary post… An overview of some of the events which made an influence in my life in 2009…

2009… This year had a good start as compared to 2008… but then again every year in my life would have a better start than 2008. Right in the start happiness came to me through mail and through the sweet wishes of my friends on my birthday… Now, even though to all others they are nothing but pieces of paper that said happy birthday, to me, they were a source of great pride… happiness… still I have those cards saved up right with my official certificates and degrees… extreme? Well to me they are more important than papers identifying my academia and my birth records… (Besides all of that can be reissued for a fee :P) Now, I am not saying those who sent me something to remember them by were my only source of happiness… I got all I asked for on that birthday… sweet wishes from all my friends… and a birthday I don’t look back and sigh upon.

2009 was off to a booming start and from there it only got better… at least that is what I thought… It was March I believe, when troubles ensued… (Apart from the constant pricking of things I did in 2008) these troubles started when my grandmother passed away. Though in some sense it did make me happy seeing how sick she was… I always believe that the dead are in a better place so I can never shed a tear on someone’s death… But soon after family problems started and once more hell broke lose… but like every bad time… just like dawn must follow a night… happiness followed…

I was an uncle. My little nephew was born and it seemed as if every pain I ever felt was taken right away from me the first time I saw his angelic face. It was as if God had sent an angel on Earth for me to give my pain away to.  It was one hell of a moment. Though my happiness wasn’t apparent I was happy less for my own self but for my family who once again was bonding with each other…

Happiness… You know what screw the dates and the chronological order… I am going to share my happy moments… at least for the start…

Well 2009 had a lot of gatherings of friends. Not to mention the experiments we did with foods. Viva la mochu for becoming a chef. We experimented whenever we met and almost always the result was delicious except for that one time when we tried “knorr” Chinese Manchurian or went to try “tao yuan” instead of the usual Chinese restraint we eat at. During this year we also got to taste the expert cooking of Mr. Zahir Malik. Not a bad baker and a pizza maker I must say. Lots of memories were made at each gathering and needless to say enjoyment followed.

I had the honor of making new friends and spending time with them. Some of those moments include meeting Talha at Crab’s place and the once in a blue moon breakfasts I shared with Agha Asad Haroon. Though we met Talha more at different gatherings and my only regret about meetings with my friends was the lack of meetings with Asjad… But I guess that was bound to happen.

The meeting with Sony, Moh, Muk, Lusty, Crab and Trix on trix’s birthday was also one of the most prominent happiest gatherings we had. Even though that meeting ended with sonya visiting my home it was one hell of party. Good times we had and even though sonya’s sucky camera screwed up every picture we still have some pictures of those moments to reminisce upon. (Now, sonya will kill me :P)

And lets not forget the time I spent with Mohsin and Usman in his village in Narowal about which I wrote a detailed article as well but I forgot one important part and that was to thank Usman and his parents for the memories and making our visit truly marvelous. I thank you all now.

Oh and how can I forget the moment and time I spent in making sonya and mano a birthday present. Damn it was hard work for a lazy ass like me but fun nonetheless. It was my first gift to mano and well I hope she appreciated it (she better had or kill kill kill :P.) And even though she made fun of my writing and my signature I was happy to see a friend smile because of me. Oh and I bought sonya jewelry. One of the worst experiences of my life, I have no idea how women do it. Seriously, the condescending shop keepers were literally provoking me to attack them with a series of abuses. It was like “You don’t know anything about fashion and jewelry and only we can tell what you or your friend would like.” And I still thank God my university friend was with me on that faithful day.

Speaking of university, university was lots of fun this year as well. I went to GIKI with my seniors for a science competition and even though we lost the quiz round we won second position in the science exhibition. But it was not about winning or loosing it was about the time I spent there with my seniors. Those were some times I shall never forget as long as I live. Hats off to you guys, thank you Aqib, Qaiser, Salman, Afnan and Jabir bhai for the memorable experience.

Apart from that I won first prize in a debate competition in my university and even though no team was declared the winner a student was honored above me. Not because she was good but because the judges were biased. But the most memorable part was getting to see the backing of my class for me and winning respect in the eyes of a professor I truly respect and honor. I still remember his line, “And in my view he is the winner of today’s competition.” They all stood by me and only said, “You are our winner mate.” Now that I think about it, it was really an amazing feeling moving people to their feet… heck even my opposition stood up and cheered for me. I loved seeing the drops of sweat coming from the other team’s captain.

Now, I made new friends in university and well I am really glad to say at least one of them is really loyal. For that I am glad to name this a happy moment.

Apart from all this the usual happiness came from my friends and family… The moments we shared were truly amazing and memorable. They truly helped me become a better person and look at life from a better and a different perspective.

Well, like always with happiness in your midst… sadness can’t be far behind…

Some sad moments I mentioned in the start… other sad moments was not being able to go to my dream university after getting admission there second time in a row. Heck, I even made my parents sad but I know they had my safety in mind and I am truly sorry for hurting them if even unintentionally I did.

Now, moving on the saddest of moments included hearing that crab’s engagement had been broken. No matter how we try to move on and no matter how we love someone, the future doesn’t really care.

Apart from that it included a time having to see some of my friends cry in front of me. Even though I understood their pain and felt a greater pain I just couldn’t … wasn’t able to show it… But after 2008 I had turned a little callous and this callousness truly made me pay.

Another sad moment was getting to see my friends hurt… even today… but at least I tried helping and that was something that made me happy.

Another event was to see Muk and GS fight… Truly there is nothing worse than two friends fighting and having to see others get enjoyment out of this. Apart from that other Usman fights were also very disturbing… It’s hard to see two of your friends fight.

Ha… But I guess the saddest moment was uncovering a whole web of lies weaved by my friends. Now, I know they have the rights to their privacy but they just didn’t have to lie to me… Not to mention being misunderstood by the person who I once thought understood me the most. It was like going through the ancient Chinese punishment known as “Leng T’che” or more simply known as “Deaths by a thousand cuts.” It was like that at the end of this year for me (not to mention the whole of 2008 and 2009 too)… Little cut by little my friends killing me.

But I always smiled back… but the lies were more than enough. Needless to say I lost two of my close friends at the end of this year… Friends to whom I had a lot to say… Friends to whom I wanted to explain a whole lot but I never could… Heck I couldn’t even say what I wanted to say to them when I said my final goodbyes to them… Guess some words really go unsaid, unheard and unfelt by anyone but yourself and no matter how hard you try you never can bring them to your tongue… I also learnt the crude fact that everything that ever happens is my fault… (The rest of the events I am cutting as I have been sworn to secrecy)

Ah well guess I should grow up…. After all this is the real world…

Ah well… I guess I would end this essay right about now… As the events that happened in the last couple of weeks took away a lot from me and I truly wish to forget them and move on therefore I would like to forget and move on… (Even though I can never forget)

Well let me just do the verdict of this year…

Hmm… since I was on the topic of friends lets start with the verdict on them… I made some new friends; I guess in this year and got closer to some old ones. With the new ones I look forward to start the New Year with and with the old well I like having them around. 😛 (yes, see I am giving your life a purpose xD thank me.) Some people walked in and out of my life during this year… don’t know whether to call them a friend or an acquaintance but the memories we shared were truly unforgettable and I truly thank them for that. I lost some friends I never thought of losing but ah well that is how life goes. Even though I lost them this does not in any way mean that I shall forget them and won’t be there if they ever need me…

Guess this is a new year so I should look towards the future… Well, I don’t know what the future holds but all I can say right now is… “Through thick and thin the show will go on…” And if I have the support of my friends and family then come what may I shalt stand tall and battle it out till there is a single breath in my soul… Till my body is completely drained of blood I shalt fight. (Filmi :P)

Oh, and I Thank you all for the memories… Truly unforgettable… No matter what memory you gave me I am thankful to you for it made me grow stronger, it made me shape into a better person. I thank you from the bottom of my heart. This is almost the end but I do have some things to say… “I rather start the new years with the friends and family I have rather than spending it with the entire world.” Oh and also… “I wish and pray to see many more years with you by my side… (After all a man needs his servants :P)”

At the end of this essay, I would like to truly apologize for my callousness, my inability to express my emotions, my thoughts and how I feel and any pain that I have caused you. I am truly sorry for that and if you want I am ready for any punishment that you want to give me. And well thank you for always being there… (Get some other work to do than to spy on me you jackasses :P)

P.S. What I have said here is well only a small overview of 2009… I am truly sorry if I missed some sad moment or happy moment that I have shared with you guys… But it does not in any way mean that I forgot it… I just have a lot on my mind right now… And please ignore any grammatical mistakes yo come across. Thanks xD oh and “Sara kasur mera hi hai” 😛 Kashi tun bhar mein ja xd mera kasur hai xD:P

21 Responses to “2009… An Overview”

  1. I only read the last line … nd trust me -_- … tu 13- 14 ghnty sony k baad b yahi keh rha hy kuty k putr -___-

  2. Kashi beta pichlay puray haftay mein kisi raat 4 ghantay say ziada nae soya beta 😛

  3. lol dun worry bro the gift u gave me reli mad eme smile and w.e. and that letter or w.e. well wenever i am serusly down.. reading it reli makes me smile so ur efforts paid off =P
    anyways xD mano hopes u have a better year ahead.. ^^ as usual.. u have ur way with words 😛

  4. okey am gonna kill u hp…. my cam was not sucky…hmph

  5. Hahaha, nice =P I planned to write it, but adha karke light chali gayi and then I felt lazy, lol!
    nicely written xD

  6. Anas Shafqat Says:

    Gud work ^^ Interesting :p

  7. @mano ty xD and u better had xD
    @soni yea yea :p
    @anu XD ty:p
    @usman =P
    @ziad lol well write it anyways would like to read;P

  8. @hp …. 4 ghunty?? …. pta hy kitny hoty hn -_- …. i cudnt slep 4 nyt … literally zombie man -_-“

  9. u never lost a person u left him

  10. unfortunately i lost 5 friends ^^ so even if i chose to leave 2 of em the other 3 left me ^^

  11. 😛 u cannot justify ” leaving 2 of em ” because 3 left u now can u ?

  12. sometimes its better to leave… You won’t understand you never will… even if you are the original you have yet a lot to learn which the mere reflection learn when the people broke the source mirror with stones hahahahahaha

  13. learnt*

  14. why u even let them do that ?
    and yet u dont know my sufferings ^_^; maybe i dont know wat u learn
    but same goes for u too na ;p u have ur exp i have mine

  15. yes after all ur sufferings are greater than mine ^^ and its my will and like i told people in the start im heartless ^^

  16. ^_^ never said any of the things u are mentioning ^_^
    i am just saying that u are not the only one with all the pain in this world
    u dont OWN all the problems neither do i ^_^

  17. nae u do ^^ 😛

  18. 😛 maybe i do BUT U DONT 😛 SO BE HAPPY

  19. yea after all i ma mere reflection ^^

Leave a Reply

