2011, An Overview

Well, this post is going to be one of those dear diary ones. No, this in no way means that I will be writing, “Dear Diary, she talked to me today…” etc. This is something I do at the end of each year… it’s more of an overview of how my year went.

Well 2011 in all its glory wasn’t such a great year for me at all (apart from some things). The year brought lots of memories, many of whom I just wish to forget but alas if only the human mind was that simple to control.

The year started as usual with the torment of my birthday sitting just around the corner. But sadly, this year my friends and I couldn’t arrange a barbeque like every year, near my birthday, in January. Not to mention I didn’t get any presents for my birthday either, except a few. Yea, thank you guys, what a great bunch of dead beat miser friends you are! 😛

Well don’t feel sad for me, for we did manage to get a bbq and not one but two of them in fact. Of course they both resulted in me ending up either cleaning up and washing the chicken or cooking them in front of the grill but I ain’t complaining… much.

As summer ended, I found myself again in the shrouds of boredom as this year I had no plans for summer vacations at all but to just sit at home and clear one damn subject in the summer camp of my university (Not to mention, hear the words: “OMG, YOU FLUNKED A SUBJECT TOO??” over and over again).

And just when this year couldn’t get any happier I soon found myself on the joyful occasion of attending two weddings of my cousins along with one of a friend’s brother. One at the start of the year and one near the end of it. No, I do not enjoy weddings and hence soon found myself banging my head against the wall in shear happiness. The wedding of my cousins’ went as fast as a snail moving on peanut butter but the wedding of M’s brother really gave some unforgettable memories. Of course that too was tainted by a fight between two of my friends but on the bright side I got to meet one asinine of a net friend.

Speaking of fights, I fought a lot with many of my friends this year and learnt the hard way that somehow, the one a person is committed with means more to them then their friends. Had huge fights with 3 of my friends and all of them, believe it or not happened over their relationships. Somehow the words, “I want to protect you from harm” lost their value and I ended up losing a dear sister and a brother like friend. Although I did manage to patch things up with them but alas, it isn’t the same anymore… and if I could I would go back and explain my actions more and tell them that whatever I did, no matter how foolish it was, was to protect them and I know I made mistakes and went about the matters entirely wrong but sigh, time does not move backward.

Oh, if you think that was sad then my friends please hold on because the year got worse… Two of my friends lost their fathers to the angel of death. Even though I couldn’t be there for one of them in those days, much to my regret, I did manage to get to the other one. The 900 km journey in 2 days with 6 guys in a Suzuki Mehran just to get to a funeral seemed nothing when we heard the words, “I knew you guys would come.”

Anyhow, moving on from all the emo stuff, I did have my fun this year as well. Mainly online, I rekindled my relation with an old friend, met some interesting people online (many of whom are bloggers, that’s entirely another thing that I don’t know anything about them but ah well), started Static, met a sick old lady who gave me chocolates :P, found fraternity in the most strangest of ways, grew closer than ever to one of my old friends, found the value and meaning of the words friendship, love etc better than ever thanks that some of my friends (One in particular). Fought like crazy and then tried my best to win a friend over on more than one occasions.

My family also had the immense pleasure of welcoming a little baby girl, Aleezay, the daughter of my brother and my niece into this world. Izaan (my nephew) grew to be two years old and frankly he is turning out to be one hell of a firecracker.

Other than that, the trip to Khanaspur with my university friends proved to be great fun as well. Speaking of university, I went to a number of science fairs this year as well to represent my department, though that is another matter entirely that we won squat. But ah well, when your quiz team just likes to yell Enrico Fermi as the goddamned answer to everything that was bound to happen. I also had the sheer pleasure of working on the welcome party of my juniors with some of the “calm and cool” minded people of my department. They just were just so awesome that they made me appreciate girls! 😛

Apart from that, I also found myself wrapped in the mess of the departmental magazine and soon wounded up laying the founding stone of it with some colleagues. No, this doesn’t mean I am happy as the editorial staff under me for the English editorial board compromises entirely of girls! WTF!

Yea moving on, this year I couldn’t help but see how fast life moved and how quickly it has started to wrap people around me in its complexities. The number of hangouts this year with my old friends was shockingly low, though the ones we did had were fun nonetheless. Everyone is moving on so fast, many of my friends are either in serious relationships or are engaged, which leaves me, single and happy. Not that I am complaining that I want a girlfriend or something I am just surprised by the fact that everyone grew up so fast. Ah well, one can’t always be carefree… I know there are still a few days left in this year but unless something extra ordinary happens I would be fixated before my computer screen playing Elder Scrolls or tending to my new puppy… that I just got a few days back and is gravely ill…

Ah well, this was a short overview of my year and even though I cut out many integral parts out of it due to the fact that I don’t wish to speak about them I can’t help but wonder in the end, was this year truly worth writing about? I guess by the experiences I had, sure…

At the end, I would like to address all my old and new friends… “I am sorry if I did anything to hurt you this year, I know I have been introverted throughout the year but with time we all are becoming intensively busy and slowly drifting apart. In this diffusion many of us have forgotten what our friendships meant to us. I would like you to please take a moment out of your lives and just look back and remember all the good old times we shared… Life may move fast and it doesn’t mean you have to forget everyone you cared about.”

20 Responses to “2011, An Overview”

  1. i forgive you hp 😛

  2. i forgive you too. 😛

  3. Now i can die happy -.-

  4. Life does move very fast and it’s amazing how fast we all grow. Yeah you made mistakes and you have realised them. Inshallah in 2012 you will be smarter and wiser and won’t make them again. you’re friends will remember u fondly as u do them.

    Wish you all the best in the coming year. Good luck. 😉

  5. all you could get ur hands on is a few chocolates that too by a sick old woman.. awww i feel sorry for you already 😛

  6. Abbay kush to hum hon geh… One less to get on our nerves..

    • Han han bilkul ab tou ap log yehi kaho gay 😛
      @Mahlaqa: Lol, actually the funny part is adhun ko gift daynay say menay khud hi mana kiya tha 😛

  7. Lol nah my philosophy is simple 😛 accept no gift give no gift 😛

  8. “met a sick old lady who gave me chocolates :P”

    seriously? :p lucky you :/

    “Had huge fights with 3 of my friends and all of them, believe it or not happened over their relationships.”

    i think you have serious issues with relationships :/ ALL THREE of them couldn’t have been wrong or all three if them couldn’t have needed you to protect them you knw :p but glad you realized that some of your actions were infact, foolish xp

  9. mahn00r Says:

    yes but still.. all three of them? 😛

Leave a Reply

