Something on the Elections in Pakistan

For those of you who don’t know, elections have taken place in Pakistan just yesterday and now we all are standing in the wake of its repercussions as the victors are celebrating while the ones who lost are chanting “cheat” and “Only idiots and **** voted for the winning party”. This post originally is intended for apologizing to people who after the elections uploaded pictures of their thumbs (it has a mark put on it by the Election Commission to indicate that this person has voted so he/she may not vote again). In any case, I found that highly stupid and spoke out against it and the happenings but apparently was met with hostile answers as apparently speaking out against what you find wrong is apparently not good. In any case, this shouldn’t really concern you as it is mainly for those who actually know me in person.

My past few statuses and statements may have offended some people and I therefore apologize if I insulted anyone or their views. That was not my intention. I just spoke what I felt was wrong and I still stand by that. Sure, I could had done so without calling people stupid but to be honest that was just meant to add a little flavor to what would had been a very serious post otherwise. I in no way feel that I am superior to anyone on this planet as we all excel at something where others don’t. I for one recognize and respect that fact. Anyhow, I really don’t like speaking about religion or politics as people are usually very rigid and easily irritated when those topics come up. But, to be quite honest I just can’t stand and watch what is going on without speaking what’s on my mind.

… You wanted a new Pakistan? Lol, look around and tell me how do you hope to achieve that if you as a nation stand divided and fight amongst your own selves? Why can’t you see the silver lining that at least people expressed themselves and respect their opinions? Why is it that you must abuse to convey your point to someone? I really don’t understand, I thought we were all Pakistani’s but apparently we are everything but that.

You want a new Pakistan then why don’t you start making it yourself? Why don’t you start shunning the corrupt ways and actually try sticking to the truth for once, even if you know it will harm you. Why don’t you try educating someone in need for free? Why don’t you try compensating for your “third world” education by actually broadening your own horizons by reading books that aren’t in your syllabus for once? Heck, if that isn’t your thing you can always use YouTube to educate yourself. Oh but wait, YouTube is for songs only. What the hell was I thinking? Why don’t you try helping those in need without asking for anything in return? Why not help a stranger on the road without reason? Why don’t you actually start speaking against everything you feel IS wrong without abusing?

Now what I am saying may sound highly theoretical but truth be told, it is achievable. Sure people will call you whiny, crazy, pathetic and plain old stupid for doing so but remember your words are important. “For words will always retain their power. Words offer the means to meaning, and for those who will listen, the enunciation of truth.”

So please, I ask you to keep calm and remember we are after all brethren, we belong to the same nation and no matter where we belong to, who we are, we were all created equal and in many ways are still equal.

As for those thinking this is just another lecture, by all means carry on but for those who want to think, I beg you please do so. For if you are gracious in defeat only then can you be humble in the face of victory.

P.S. I for one am opting for my own “new Pakistan” by following whatever way I can and thinking of as many ways as I can as to help those in need and educate all I can. I have and always will stand by the truth no matter what. So yea, these words come after action.

 

15 Responses to “Something on the Elections in Pakistan”

  1. The karachi polling situation is horrible…and there is cheating happening. I mean there are people who are changing themselves and wanted a better change by having a leader that will help in the process too…but there are a few people who didn’t let that happen. And I feel their pain.. It is really unfair. What you are saying is a great thing…but some support from leaders would be good too. Ah…lets see, I think a better leader is coming in the case atm…but you are again, right. Lets see if this time the people change themselves. Great post! Im planning on running in the future. You better help In my campaign.

  2. Are you really serious about running for a seat of power? 😛 Cuz dual nationals can’t run 😛 Unless you’re President Zardari. =P And to be honest we can’t have a great leader if we as a nation aren’t ready to become great.
    as for rigging, yes sure it may have happened but unless people are ready for civil disobedience and its consequences, ranting about it is pointless.
    As for a better leader, truth be told I never really liked the Sharif Brothers, they focus too much on glamor

  3. wow…thanks for crushing my dreams. and i didnt mean the sharif brothers…i just meant a new leader aka not Zadari.

    • Aww, well you can always chuck one nationality out of the door if you get elected =P No one bothers seeing it before =P P.S. I would love to run an election campaign =P

  4. Nice point of view. I agree with you. You’ve put it into words quite well.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes Says:

    Good for you speaking out and standing up. Excellent post.

  6. cryptic999 Says:

    E.L.E.C.T.I.O.N.S
    Uh, please!

  7. Lol I hated the pictures of purple thunbs too back then 😉 Yes you have said it all right…..As Allah says You will have the rulers same as you are ! So we don’t change ourselves and we want good rulers and a New Pakistan !! I hope though there would be a new Pakistan soon as it is obvious from some scholar’s views….. Hope for the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

